Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | All Access E-Edition | Home RSS
 
 
 

Behind the whistle: Pass or shot, it’s still a ‘3’

February 12, 2012
dsp By JOHN HOWELL , Times Leader

I received a few questions from a former area resident regarding a play from an Ohio State Men's game. The play was a lob pass from beyond the three point line that went directly into the basket. He questioned whether instead of the three points that were scored, it should count for only two points since it wasn't a try for goal. I explained that I can only discuss the National Federation rules and not the college rules but the rule for high school and below states, "A successful try, tap or thrown ball from the field by a player who is located behind the team's own three point arc counts three points". That also indicates a player can't score a three point goal for the opponent since it must be from behind his team's three point line. The only time the rules allow an official to question whether a player is trying for goal or not is when there is a foul and a determination is made regarding a shooting or non-shooting foul.

 
 

 

I am looking for:
in:
News, Blogs & Events Web